In case you hadn’t noticed, I am a girl. And a geek. And proud.

Also in case you hadn’t noticed, there’s been some uproar in the media recently over the topic of geek girls – in particular one rant from Tony Harris (an artist behind such comics as Starman and Ex Machina). Here is just one excerpt from that rant, which also features appalling grammar and use of  ‘you’re’.

but dammit, dammit, dammit I am so sick and tired of the whole COSPLAY-Chiks. I know a few who are actually pretty cool-and BIG Shocker, love and read Comics.So as in all things, they are the exception to the rule. Heres the statement I wanna make, based on THE RULE: “Hey! Quasi-Pretty-NOT-Hot-Girl, you are more pathetic than the REAL Nerds, who YOU secretly think are REALLY PATHETIC.”

Just… what? Now, I don’t cosplay but I would love to. I do, however, fully appreciate the effort that cosplayers go to for their outfits and think they look wonderful – and even if the cosplay goes a bit wrong the confidence to stand out in the first place is awe-inspiring. Especially when you could get targeted like this. It is disgusting.

The general tone of Harris’ full rant is horrible. Even when referring to other, ‘cosplay-chicks’ he looks down on us, who are actually interested in comic books. Well rain fire and cheese on me, who would have thought girls could like comics?! You know, how do we have the time to read comics when busy making slutty costumes to attract all the virgin, socially awkward guys?

I am not really a feminist. I have seen plenty of girls in the geek domain, and even more guys who are accepting of that and don’t even bat an eyelid. IT IS NORMAL.

It reminds me of one week when I picked up the latest Before Watchmen (that time a Comedian issue) and took it to the counter of my local comic store. The guy at the checkout inquired as to which story I was enjoying most, to which I replied that I liked most of them but I was quite enjoying the Silk Spectre at that time. He nodded wisely and then said, “that’s interesting because we get a lot of guys in here and they all like Minutemen. They can’t stand Silk Spectre.”

Why should that be interesting? Why do we make a point of determining the differences of opinion between the genders? I liked Silk Spectre because of the simplistic but effective artwork, the spunky character of Laurie and the sense of impending doom surrounding her new-found freedom. I also greatly enjoy the other Before Watchmen stories and the Minutemen I really love too. Does that make my answer any less of a commentary on the girl’s perspective?

Why are we still getting reactions like this? I know girls who aren’t interested in ‘geek’ things, but not a single one of them would want to dress up as a scantily clad character they have never heard of just to get the attention of geek guys. And the ones that do dress up as a scantily clad character I admire for their courage, because they look better than I would and they do have knowledge of that character. Why would you waste money and time going to cons in cosplay if you had no interest in it?

But if a guy bulks himself up and wants to dress up as Batman (complete with accurate chest size and six-pack) is THAT acceptable? Especially if, hypothetically, the only knowledge of Batman he has is maybe watching one scene of Batman, Dark Knight. Surely that is just sexualisation to attract women and therefore the same as ‘cosplay chicks’?

For me, I am just happy wearing a Doctor Who T-shirt, always having my DS in my bag in case of Pokemon emergencies, and going to cons (with my boyfriend – i.e not looking for ANY attention) with my purple Harley Quinn converse as my most daring clothing item. Why can’t that just be acceptable? AND I DO NOT HAVE BIG BLACK GLASSES OR PLAY VIDEO GAMES IN MY UNDERWEAR.

I do not wear/ own glasses like this. Or pout/ have a socially awkward general expression. But type “geek girl” into google images and this is what you get in various degrees.

Maybe I can’t recite every type of spaceship from Star Wars, or claim to like Star Trek (sorry guys) but I know what I enjoy, and I know what hobbies I have. And to me, it is classed as geeky. What is the problem with that?

What are your opinions on this? Geek girl or guy, get in touch! I’d love to debate this topic…

